Celebration of Achievement Awards

What are the Celebration of Achievement Awards?

The Celebration of Achievement Awards enable us to take time out to recognise some of the truly remarkable people who work here at The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital NHS Foundation Trust.

There are 17 awards presented as part of the awards. Nominations come from our own staff, volunteers and governors - though patients can also get involved by submitting nominations for our Patient Choice Award.


Details of the winners

Message from our Chief Executive

RJAH has a well-established reputation for innovation and excellence, but it is a pleasure for me to see first-hand in my role as Chief Executive  just how talented our people are.

What struck me, though, is that we don’t shout enough about our achievements. It’s why we launched our Celebration
of Achievement Awards. I want us to be vocal in acknowledging achievement and success.

Recognition is important. Celebrating achievement is important. We are all so busy, and the challenges facing the NHS at the moment are large, that it is easy to forget about the many, many things we do so well.

All of our staff making a big difference to the lives of our patients and those they work with, every single day. This is just one way we can say thank you!

Best wishes,

Mark Brandreth
Chief Executive


Details about the awards categories

Categories open to public nomination

Patient Choice Award (Individual) / Patient Choice Award (Team)

Our popular Patient Choice Awards recognise individuals and teams in a patient facing service or support service. Both awards are about working hard to ensure that the service that we offer patients is the highest standard it can be and making improvements.  

Nominations will come from a range of sources including nomination forms, letters, emails and telephone calls – with a shortlisting panel, which will include a representative from our Patient Panel, selecting the final four in each category and the winner then being selected by public vote.  


Categories open to Staff Nomination

Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year / Outstanding Individual Achievement of the Year

These two categories acknowledge those individuals and teams (departmental teams, project teams, or multi-disciplinary teams) respectively who go above and beyond what is expected in their role, and who consistently demonstrate our Trust values in order to deliver excellence for their patients and other customers.  A shortlisting panel chooses the final four in these two categories - with our staff then directly voting for the winners.

Education and Learning Award

This category is open to any member of staff or student who has shown exceptional commitment to learning and education that they have undertaken, be that Academic, Vocational or as part of an apprenticeship or student placement.  This learning and education should be significant to them and made a difference in their role, either in confidence or skill and contributed to the wider team in some way.

Living the Values Award

This category is open to any member of staff who you feel lives and breathes the Trust Values in the work that they do.  Those nominated show consistent excellence in how they behave when working with patients, visitors or staff.  

Richard Clarke Unsung Hero Award

This category is open to any member of staff who deserves recognition for the great job that they do. This may be someone that has been involved with patient care and shows empathy and understanding or someone who works in a non-patient facing role who shows tireless support for the needs of the service.  The Unsung Hero is aimed at someone who does not always get the recognition and thanks for the work that they do so well. It is named in memory of Richard Clarke, a former Non-Executive Director at RJAH, who sadly passed away in 2017.

Cornerstone Award

This award is open to any non-clinical member of staff or team who work specifically in one of our Corporate Service departments. The award is named as such because the Corporate Services within the Trust are a crucial part of providing excellence in patient care.  The Encarta definition of Cornerstone is ‘Vital person or thing – somebody or something fundamentally important’

Service Improvement Award

This award is open to an individual or team who have shown that they have worked to achieve improvements in the service that they provide and can demonstrate that the changes they have brought about have made a significant impact on patient safety and/or experience. 

Closed Selection Categories (Not open to staff nomination)

The Sir Robert Jones Award

A new award for 2018, the nominees for the Sir Robert Jones Award will be put forward from the consultant body and will recognise a doctor who has made an exceptional contribution to improving care or safety for our patients.

Mary Powell Award for Nurse of the Year

To recognise an exemplar of the Nursing profession who represents all the 6C’s (Care, Compassion, Communication, Commitment, Courage and Competence) and positive behaviours we could hope for in a Nurse.

AHP or Pharmacist of the Yearr

This award is to recognise an Allied Health Professional or Pharmacist who epitomises our Values, and has made a significant impact on the outcomes, experience and/or safety of our patients. The winner will be selected by the Executive Team, with input from our senior AHPs and Pharmacists.

Clinical Scientist of the Yearr

This award is to recognise a Clinical Scientist who epitomises our Values, and has made a significant impact on the outcomes, experience and/or safety of our patients. The winner will be selected by the Executive Team, with input from our clinical scientist community.

The Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership

This category is open to individuals who are considered to be an ‘inspirational’ leader by their peers and colleagues. This award recognises leadership at any level that really exemplifies our desired leadership behaviours and standards and motivates those around them to do the best that they can in whatever activity they are involved in, in the good times and times of adversity.

Governor of the Year Award

To recognise our Governors who give up their time to make valuable contribution to the work of the organisation.

League of Friends Volunteer of the Year Award

This category is to recognise a voluntary member of staff for their hard work and dedication.  This may be in a patient focused role or in a support role.  The winner is chosen by the committee of The League of Friends to RJAH. 

Partnership Award

To recognise excellence and dedication to patient care and quality not just within our Trust, but also in partnership with other Trusts, collaborators and stakeholders.