RJAH celebrate staff at virtual awards event with a difference

Release Date: 12/11/2021

RJAH celebrate staff at virtual awards event with a difference

The past 18 months have been like no other for the NHS – and that has certainly been no different at Shropshire’s specialist orthopaedic hospital.  

Now the hard work and dedication of staff at The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital has been recognised and celebrated with the presentation of the organisation’s Celebration of Achievement Awards. 

Usually, staff and volunteers would be celebrating at the annual Celebration of Achievement Awards, however the community prevalence of coronavirus meant that this event could not go ahead. 

Instead, the Oswestry-based hospital teamed up with Shrewsbury-based events company Yarrington to hold a virtual live ceremony where staff – both those at home and those on shift – were able to tune in and watch the event unfold throughout the night. 

A total of 17 awards were presented to individuals and teams during the virtual ceremony which was compered by local Master of Ceremonies and BBC Radio Shropshire presenter Carl Jones.  

Winners included Ellie Roberts, Medical Secretary, who was announced as the winner of the Patient Choice Award (Individual), and Carwyn Davies, Physiotherapist; and Mr Pete Gallacher, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon; who were hailed as the winners of the Patient Choice Award (Team). 

Stacey Keegan, Interim Chief Executive, said: “It was fantastic to be able to celebrate our staff across the hospital for all their hard work over the past 18 months or so, albeit in a creative and fun way.  

“We have fantastic staff here at RJAH, working in both clinical and non-clinical roles, who are making a massive difference to the lives of patients and colleagues daily, and last night was our chance to say thank you. 

“The last 20 months or so have been like no other in the history of the NHS, but throughout it all, our staff have stepped up to the plate. They deserve to be recognised and thanked, which is why I was so pleased that we were able to run an awards event like this. 

“I’d also like to thank Yarrington and Carl for supporting us to put on a virtual awards ceremony with a real ‘wow’ factor.” 

Other prizes included the Covid Recognition Award – a new award for 2021 – which was presented to the RJAH Vaccination Centre, while Amanda Peet, Theatre Operational Manager, was presented with the Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership. 

The Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award – named in honour of a legendary former matron at the hospital – was presented to Ann Bishop, Spinal Specialist Nurse. The Sir Robert Jones Doctor of the Year Award went to Mr Cormac Kelly, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon. 

Other recipients included Shropshire Telford and Wrekin Integrated Care System, which was presented with the Partnership Award, and Rachel Anslow, ICNARC and High Dependency Unit Ward Clerk; won the Richard Clarke Unsung Hero of the Year Award. 

Anyone who would like to catch-up on the event can do so by clicking here.  

The winners in full: 



Patient Choice Award (Individual) 

Ellie Roberts, Patient Choice Award (Individual) 


Patient Choice Award (Team) 

Carwyn Davies, Physiotherapist; and Mr Pete Gallacher, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon 

Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year 

Medical Secretaries 

Outstanding Individual Achievement of the Year Award 

Tracey Edwards, Cleanliness Technician 

Sir Robert Jones Doctor of the Year Award 

Mr Cormac Kelly, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon 

Cornerstone Award 

Jennifer Fox, Information Officer 


Special Recognition Award for AHPs, Pharmacists and Clinical Scientists 

Stephanie Conover, Orthotist 

Richard Clarke Unsung Hero of the Year Award 

Rachel Anslow, ICNARC and High Dependency Unit Ward Clerk 

Partnership Award 

Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin Integrated Care System 

Service Improvement of the Year Award 

Outpatient Development Transformation Team 


Covid Recognition Award 

RJAH Vaccination Centre 

Education and Learning Award 

Andrea Heath, Staff Nurse on the Midland Centre for Spinal Injuries 


Living the Values Award 

Kate Evans, Therapy Support Worker 

Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership 

Amanda Peet, Theatre Operational Manager 


Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award 

Ann Bishop, Spinal Specialist Nurse 

League of Friends Volunteer of the Year Award 

Janice Roberts 

Governor of the Year 

Kate Betts, Staff Governor 

Back to News