Reasons to be proud at inaugural Celebration of Achievement Awards

Release Date: 25/11/2016

Reasons to be proud at inaugural Celebration of Achievement Awards

More than 260 staff from The Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital dressed to impress as they gathered for the organisation’s inaugural Celebration of Achievement Awards.

A total of 17 awards were presented to individuals and teams from the Oswestry-based hospital during the ceremony at the Lion Quays Hotel last night, which was compered by Channel 4 presenter Dr Ravi Jayaram.

Winners included Kate Betts, a Physiotherapy Technical Instructor, who was the recipient of the Patient Choice Award. Thirty-five patients past and present nominated members of staff from across the hospital for the award, and around 1,000 votes were cast for the shortlist of three which also included Staff Nurse Penny Oak and Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon Mr Robin Banerjee.

Mark Brandreth, Chief Executive of RJAH, said: “It was a fantastic evening and it was wonderful having so many colleagues come together to celebrate some of our achievements from the past year.

“The challenges facing the NHS on a national scale are well publicised and with all that pressure and negativity, it is easy to forget that there are many, many things we do so well.

“That is why events like last night are so important. It is vital that we recognise excellence and celebrate achievement.

“We have an incredible team at the RJAH working in clinical and non-clinical roles who are making a massive difference to the lives of their patients and their colleagues on a daily basis. Last night was our chance to say thank you.”

On an emotional evening, other winners included Pharmacy Technician Julie Horton, who has worked at the hospital for more than 30 years and was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award – named in honour of a legendary former matron at the hospital – was presented to Infection Control Nurse Mary Offland.

Other winners included Ludlow Ward Manager Helen Cooper, who received the Unsung Hero Award. It was a good night for Helen, whose Ward also won the STAR Award.

And one of the biggest cheers of the night was for Gill Cripps, who received the Volunteer of the Year Award in recognition of her years of committed service to the Disabled Swimming Club.

Frank Collins, Trust Chairman, said: “It was a pleasure to spend the evening in the company of colleagues who have achieved so much in the last year.

“I congratulate all the winners and finalists from last night’s awards, but would also extend my thanks to everyone in our dedicated teams who have helped us to maintain and enhance our reputation for excellence in patient care and outcomes.

“I am so proud to be chairman of this inspiring organisation and look forward to what I am convinced is a bright future.”

Pictured: Patient Choice Award winner Kate Betts (Physiotherapy Technical Instructor) receives her award and certificate from Chief Executive Mark Brandreth, alongside runners-up Penny Oak (Staff Nurse on Clwyd Ward) and Mr Robin Banerjee (Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon)

Last night’s winners in full:

Outstanding Individual Achievement of the Year Allen Edwards (Training Advisor)
Outstanding Team Achievement of the Year Healthcare Records Library Scanning Team
The Chief Executive’s Award for Inspirational Leadership Mr Andrew Roberts (Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon)
Living the Values Award Gemma Newson (Therapy Assistant)
Unsung Hero Award Helen Cooper (Ludlow Ward Manager)
Cornerstone Award Finance Team
Partnership Award Dr Shu Ho (Physician with an interest in Care of the Elderly)
Governor of the Year Award Jan Greasley
Patient Safety Award Pre-operative Assessment Team
Quality Improvement Award Metabolic/Rheumatology Unfusion Service
Commitment to Learning Award Winner: Paris Bartley (Alice Ward Healthcare Assistant)

Highly Commended: Shirley Oakley (Catering Assistant)
Apprentice of the Year Award Kristine Griffiths (Estates Apprentice)
STAR Award Ludlow Ward
Volunteer of the Year Award Gill Cripps
Patient Choice Award Kate Betts (Physiotherapy Technical Instructor)
Mary Powell Nurse of the Year Award Mary Offland (Infection Control Nurse)
Lifetime Achievement Award Julie Horton (Pharmacy Technician)


Back to News